Smash the Mic Episode 011 – Band in a Biscuit Tin


Your weekly dose of Smash the Mic is here! Mark and Psy agree on things, disagree on others and find different things to love in this week’s line-up of new records to review which include Deftones, Moonsorrow and Ihsahn. Mark also talks about a very peculiar parody band in Cage, and our news comes in the form of Ninjaspy chat, Laura Jane Grace of Against Me!‘s stance on a current controversy in North Carolina and the brand new Nails song. We close out with a lengthy discussion of our favourite guest vocal spots, and would love to hear your own suggestions!

Download here:

Bands discussed:
Deftones Facebook. New album Gore out now. Website.
Moonsorrow – Facebook. New album Julmaten Aika out now. Website.
Ihsahn – Facebook. New album Arktis out now. Website.
Cage – Facebook. Latest album Pilots out now. Bandcamp.

Topics discussed:

Springsteen cancels North Carolina show in protest

Laura Jane Grace refuses to cancel North Carolina show in protest

Nails stream “You Will Never Be One of Us”

Favourite guest vocal spots:

Killswitch Engage – Take This Oath (feat. Jesse Leach)

Rotting Christ – Thou Art Lord (feat. Alan Averill)

Lamb of God – Embers (feat. Chino Moreno)

Deftones – Passenger (feat. Maynard James Keenan)

Rage Against the Machine – Know Your Enemy (feat. Maynard James Keenan)

Heaven Shall Burn – Given in Death (feat. Sabina Scherer)

Volbeat – Evelyn (feat. Barney Greenway)

Swallow the Sun – The Justice of Suffering (feat. Jonas Renkse)

Swallow the Sun – These Low Lands (feat. Tomi Koivusaari)

Stray from the Path – First World Problem Child (feat. Sam Carter)

Stray from the Path – Eavesdropper (feat. Rou Reynolds)

Morgue Orgy – The Modern Prometheus (feat. Dave Hunt)

Crossfaith – “Wildfire” (feat. Benji Webbe)



About Author

Comments are closed.